Tink Week 7, spectating in the rain and I Met Meb!

I just want you to know it was all I could do to refrain from typing the title in all caps and screaming at you across the internet.

When I stumbled across the announcement that Meb Keflezighi would be signing his new book at a local bookstore  one week after the Boston Marathon., you bet I jumped right over and bought tickets for my sister and I.  We don’t just get these opportunities every day in sleepy south Alabama.

Before I did that, though, I had to make some signs and spectate my favorite running/life partner during his half marathon/long run effort.  The race was delayed for thunderstorms, and he got very wet in the first mile.

But he did great on a very tough, hilly course, and finished on the 50 yard line at the football stadium at his alma mater.

Proud of this guy today. Finished 13.1 very strong and on the 50!

A post shared by Jody Thompson (@mrsjodythompson) on

But back to Meb.

Just spending Monday night with the great American marathoner @runmeb #mebformortals #pagepalette #werunwild

A post shared by Runs With Glitter (@gorunglitter) on

He made his way down to little ol’ Fairhope, Alabama to sign his book and do a Q&A.  I, of course, couldn’t pass up the opportunity to be in the same room with one of the greatest marathoners our country has ever seen.  He’s just as nice and as positive as I’ve read about.

My sister was lucky enough to ask a question, and she asked how he deals with crappy runs.  I’m not sure he knew what she was even talking about.

I love him anyway.

——-

Tinkerbell Training Week 7

It’s getting down to the wire here, folks.
M: rest
T: 4 mi easy 2 mi
W: weights
R: 3mi easy  4×800 intervals
F: Rest
S: Rest/spectate Mark’s race
Su: 10-12   Hahahaha.  Try 6.5 mi.  At a RealFeel of 105 degrees.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

