Some thoughts going into the Tinkerbell Half

In a couple of days I’ll be on a plane headed towards L.A. and the Tinkerbell half marathon.  Training hasn’t gone as well as I planned, and I’ve learned a few things along the way.

  • Due to weather/schedules/life, I haven’t gotten in as many miles as the training plan called for.  I’ve only done 2 double-digit mileage runs.  I just need to come to terms with that.  This wasn’t supposed to be a PR effort, I can make it through 13.1 miles, and I’m in a middle corral and have plenty of buffer from the sweepers.  It’ll be fine.

  • Looking at the bigger picture, I have run hundreds of miles in the past 9 months.  It’s been like one really long training, right?
  • After this weekend, I will have completed 5 half marathons, 3 10Ks/quarter half, and 3 5Ks since last September.  I have set 3 PRs at 2 distances.  This one will be my victory lap.
  • Three back to back half marathon training cycles might just be a little too much for me to take.  My body seems to be handling things OK, but I’m pretty burned out right now.

  • At the same  time, I’m kinda sorta terrified to not have a spreadsheet telling me when to run and how far for a couple of months.

  • No more late April/May halfs for me.  The weather here is too unpredictable, and I just do not run well in the humidity.  Getting peak mileage long runs in have been nearly impossible, and having lower mileage and a long series of bad runs doesn’t give me the good feelings.  Going into a big race, I need runs that build up confidence, not that send me into a depressive melt down.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

