Oh, Hi There

I have been a terrible blogger.  It looks like it’s been since last spring that I posted here.  I thought I’d catch you up on what’s been going on.

tumblr_m763efoq7r1rau319o1_500

Pretty much this.  Summer was super hot and humid, and there were several times I didn’t run because of heat advisories.  I’m  a glutton for punishment, but I have my limits.

But now its fall.  Actually, it’s 86 degrees outside while I type this, so “fall” is subjective.  I’ve spent the last 10 or so weeks theoretically base building for fall training, but thanks to some family medical drama (not me), the bulk of that didn’t happen.  I did get pretty decent miles in the last couple of weeks, though.

And training starts this week.  Things have calmed down a bit, so I’m hoping things continue to go well.  I’ve picked a pretty aggressive training program, and I’m a little nervous.

My fall/winter schedule looks like this:

522db-rock2band2broll2blv2blogo

Looking forward to some time in Vegas!

space-coast-marathon-half-marathon-300x300

Year 3 of Space Coast. I’ll earn the Milky Way challenge medal.

 

13631590_1250458164973285_6044574603160622746_n

The Mississippi Gulf Coast half is a new race in coastal Mississippi.  13.1 miles or pure flatness along the Gulf in December.  Hopefully it will be cooler than 80 degrees by then.

olemanriver

Another half in December.  That seems like a lot of racing, but they are all just long training runs leading up to my goal race:

5a594d8eb0f0a9aa8074ee46c8281541

The Louisiana Half Marathon in January.  I ran the quarter marathon last year.  The organizers also put on the Mississippi Gulf Coast Half and the Battleship 12K, so I know its a quality race.

I am, as always, shooting to beat 3 hours.  With the weather still so warm and humid, it’s a little tough to really see where I am pace-wise, and I feel like I’m not in as good shape as I was last fall.  But I’m just going to put in the work and see where it gets me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

